GEMS International School Somabay
Pre-K to Grade 9
School programme headline
- Early years
- Primary
- Middle years / Grade 9 headline
Enquiry form stops at Grade 8 and mixes intake years. Confirm the class and year.
GISS programme source ↗Schools and childcare in Somabay
GISS and Kompass, compared. Published programmes, the 2026/27 calendar and the questions that matter before a family moves.
SOMABAY / PUBLISHED PROGRAMMES
Read each range as the school publishes it. Neither an age nor a year label confirms a place.
GEMS International School Somabay
School programme headline
Enquiry form stops at Grade 8 and mixes intake years. Confirm the class and year.
GISS programme source ↗Kompass Somabay
Campus headline: ages 1 to 10 across programmes
Campus ages are not programme cutoffs. Year labels are not converted to GISS grades.
Kompass programme source ↗GISS / 2026–2027 CALENDAR
School-published calendar, not a live attendance notice. Public holidays may change; check the latest school version before booking around dates. School calendar · Word file ↗
Sources read 3 October 2026 · Source publication dates unknown · No direct school confirmation
Start with the programme your child needs, then the school day and the journey from your actual home. A school on the peninsula does not establish a bus from every development around the bay. This comparison covers the Somabay programmes that GISS and Kompass publish about themselves, read on 3 October 2026. No school was contacted and no application was submitted.
GEMS International School Somabay publishes Pre-K to Grade 9. Its curriculum pages reference IEYC, IPC and IMYC, and the school describes its approach as following American standards. The head's message says the school is working toward Cognia accreditation. That wording does not establish completed accreditation or independently verified candidate status. School website.
There are two intake inconsistencies to resolve. The admissions page says the next intake is 2027/2028, while the enquiry form is labelled for 2026. Its grade selector ends at Grade 8, below the programme headline. Ask admissions which academic year and class they can actually offer your child; neither a headline nor a selectable form option is a confirmed place.
A separate high-school page describes an American Diploma pathway. It does not establish current Grade 10–12 availability or a date for those classes. A family needing continuity beyond Grade 9 should settle that progression directly before treating the school as a complete secondary pathway.
The published process runs from an interest form to a booked assessment, an age-appropriate child assessment and a family interview. The school describes feedback within 72 hours, followed by an offer and a first payment within a week of the assessment day. Those are its stated timings; this guide has not tested the response or payment arrangements.
Use the age placement guide as a reference. The school itself says admissions must confirm placement. Ask how your child's existing year group, previous reports and learning needs will be assessed rather than converting an age into a grade yourself.
GISS admissions: 010 5509 0040 · admissions@gis-somabay.com.
Kompass's Somabay campus page now describes nursery, kindergarten and primary, with English, German and Arabic. Its campus headline gives ages 1 to 10 across the programmes, and advertises 2026/2027 admissions. That campus-wide range does not give a nursery cutoff, kindergarten cutoff or automatic placement rule.
The dedicated Somabay primary page describes IPC and Year 1 to Year 6 applications for the “2026 academic year”. Keep the school's year labels as published; this guide does not equate them to GISS grades. Confirm the precise class, academic year and age placement directly.
This updates our earlier research. Our 17 September review did not establish the primary programme from the school’s own website. The dedicated school-owned page now supports listing it as a published offering. That resolves the website-evidence gap; it does not confirm occupied classes, spare places or your child's acceptance. The earlier snapshot remains in our research archive.
The Somabay admissions page gives Sunday–Thursday, 08:00–16:00 for the admissions office. It publishes a Soma Bay Marina address. Confirm the actual campus entrance for a visit; a marina address does not identify a gate. Nursery, kindergarten and primary classroom start and finish times were not established by this review.
The same page lists an application, a child's birth certificate and passport, vaccination records, two years of school reports and eight passport photos. Ask which documents apply to your programme and circumstances, particularly for a child who has not attended school before. Share documents through the school's agreed private admissions channel, rather than a guide correction or public message.
Kompass school contact: +20 100 262 3999 · admissions@kompasseducation.org. The current school pages link WhatsApp for this number. These are published contacts; response times have not been tested.
GISS links a 2026/2027 academic calendar. Its term starts are shown above, with a link to the school file. The calendar says public holidays may change and advises waiting for confirmation before booking holidays. A calendar date does not settle daily drop-off, collection or after-school supervision. Calendar page.
The GISS payment page describes cashless payments and instalments; we found no numerical fee schedule there or in its linked graphics. The Kompass campus and admissions pages reviewed also do not establish a numerical fee schedule. Request a written quote for the academic year and programme, with tuition and any application, transport, meal, uniform or activity charges itemised. Ask about deposits, refunds and what changes if you join after the year has begun.
For each school, agree the classroom times, collection arrangements and who supervises a child before or after lessons. Ask which languages are used for teaching and how a child new to English, German or Arabic is supported. A trilingual description alone does not establish lesson allocation or individual language support.
GISS describes school transport, but the page does not establish a named route from your home, stops, fares or journey times. We have not established a Kompass bus route from the pages reviewed. Ask about your exact address, both directions, pickup and return times, collection rules, a missed bus and any vehicle arrangement your child needs.
The daytime destination shuttle is a separate published service. It is not evidence of a school run or supervised child transport. A hotel transfer, golf cart or broad bay map also does not settle the journey between a home and a classroom.
Ask the school about a dated short-stay arrangement. Earlier destination descriptions mentioned Kompass guest packages and resident discounts; the current school pages reviewed did not establish their present availability, terms or eligibility. They remain historical references, rather than options you can assume are bookable.
A hotel kids' club is a different arrangement from nursery or school. Settle the dates, age group, actual supervision hours, whether a parent must remain nearby and who may attend with your own hotel. This school comparison does not establish a drop-in childcare service for visitors from other hotels or homes.
Get a written answer on the child's class and academic year, the total costs, the daily timetable and the journey from the address you are considering. Keep the school offer and the home or host's entry arrangements separate. A brochure showing a school on a masterplan is not confirmation that it operates or can accept your child.
Save the offline guide for the comparison and contact numbers. This article reflects source pages read on 3 October 2026. Their publication dates are not stated; a 2026/2027 calendar or intake label is not a publication date. School places, actual transport, classroom hours, fees and independently verified accreditation remain unconfirmed.
GEMS International School Somabay · Source date not stated · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Historical review from 17 September 2026. The earlier note described candidate accreditation status; that characterization is not adopted as independently verified status. The 3 October school-owned source says it is working toward Cognia accreditation. See SRC-SCHOOL-GISS-HOME. Original snapshot retained in the school research archive.
GEMS International School Somabay · Source date not stated · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Historical review from 17 September 2026. The statement that fee and transport pages were not fetched applied to that review. Both pages were read on 3 October; no numerical fees or named residential bus routes were established. See SRC-SCHOOL-GISS-FEES and SRC-SCHOOL-GISS-BUS. Original snapshot retained in the school research archive.
Kompass International School · Source date not stated · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Historical review from 17 September 2026. It recorded ages 1-5.5 and a primary-programme conflict. The 3 October dedicated Somabay campus and primary pages now publish nursery, kindergarten and primary. This resolves the website-evidence gap, not occupied classes or places. See SRC-SCHOOL-K-CAMPUS and SRC-SCHOOL-K-PRIMARY. Original snapshot retained in the school research archive.
Somabay (Abu Soma Touristic Development Company) · Page metadata 8 Apr 2024 · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
Somabay (Abu Soma Touristic Development Company) · Page metadata 8 Apr 2024 · Retrieved 17 Sept 2026
GEMS International School Somabay · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
Pre-K to Grade 9 is a published programme range, not confirmation of a seat. School says it is working toward Cognia accreditation; no independent accreditation check.
GEMS International School Somabay · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
Headline range Pre-K to Grade 9; enquiry form ends at Grade 8. Intake heading refers to 2027/2028 while form title refers to 2026. Current intake and grade availability unresolved.
GEMS International School Somabay · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
Published sequence and timing promises only, not independently tested. No numerical fee schedule or refund terms established.
GEMS International School Somabay · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
School calls its guide a general reference; admissions confirms placement. Guide does not convert age or other schools' year labels into an eligibility decision.
GEMS International School Somabay · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
School transport described; no named residential routes, stop coordinates, fares, journey times or accessible vehicle arrangement established.
GEMS International School Somabay · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
Cashless payment and instalments described. No numerical tuition or transport fee schedule found on this page; its linked images are a campus photograph and decorative SVGs, not a fee table.
GEMS International School Somabay · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
Links a school calendar for 2026/2027. Calendar year is not publication date; actual attendance and changes should be confirmed with school.
GEMS International School Somabay · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
Describes an American Diploma pathway, but no current Grade 10-12 intake or opening date is established. Read alongside the Pre-K to Grade 9 headline and enquiry form ending at Grade 8.
GEMS International School Somabay · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
Two-page DOCX read and rendered. Term starts: 6 Sep 2026, 10 Jan 2027, 4 Apr 2027. Calendar says public holidays may change and recommends waiting for confirmation before booking holidays. Upload path and document metadata are not publication dates.
Kompass International School · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
Campus headline ages 1 to 10; nursery, kindergarten and primary described. Does not establish programme-specific age cutoffs, occupied classes or remaining places. Live browser read after direct HTTP returned 403.
Kompass International School · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
Nursery programme and English, German and Arabic described. No numerical fees, precise age cutoff or classroom opening hours established. Live browser read; no enquiry sent.
Kompass International School · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
Somabay kindergarten and 2026/2027 enquiries described. No numerical fees, precise age cutoff or classroom opening hours established. Live browser read; no enquiry sent.
Kompass International School · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
Explicit Somabay IPC primary page describes Year 1 to Year 6 applications for the 2026 academic year. Resolves previous absence from school's own site; does not independently confirm enrolment, class occupancy, equivalence to GISS grades or accreditation.
Kompass International School · Source date not stated · Retrieved 3 Oct 2026
Admissions office hours Sunday-Thursday 08:00-16:00, not classroom hours. Published marina address is not a surveyed campus entrance. Document checklist is not automatic eligibility; applicability to nursery children needs confirming.